Saturday, April 1, 2017

Girl Scouts of Southern Illinois Holds 2017 All That Glitters Awards Ceremony

Girl Scouts were shining stars during Girl Scouts of Southern Illinois’ (GSSI) All That Glitters award ceremony on April 1, 2017 at the Holiday Inn in Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Each year, the banquet recognizes Girl Scouts from across southern Illinois who achieve significant accomplishments in community service and leadership. 

Awardees included recipients of the Girl Scout Gold Award, the top individual award a Girl Scout can earn, as well as the Girl Scout Silver Award, which is the highest award a Girl Scout Cadette can earn. Fifteen Girl Scouts also were honored with the Trifecta Award, which recognizes the outstanding accomplishment of earning the Girl Scout Bronze Award, the Girl Scout Silver Award and the Girl Scout Silver Award. In addition, Kathleen McCracken from Edwardsville, Caroline Stewart from Belleville and Kayli Worthey from Neoga were named Graduating Girl Scouts for their extraordinary Girl Scout careers. McCracken and Stewart received a $500 scholarship funded by GSSI’s Annual Brownie Haunted Camp event, while Worthey received a $1,000 scholarship funded by GSSI’s staff giving campaign. 

Please see the following list for a full description of awards, 
as well as a list of this year’s awardees:

The Girl Scout Gold Award recognizes leadership, effort and impact that Girl Scout Seniors and Girl Scout Ambassadors have had on their communities. Only about 5 percent of eligible girls take the rigorous path toward earning this prestigious award, but those who complete the journey change the lives of others and their own in amazing and significant ways. This year’s Girl Scout Gold Award recipients include:

Belleville: Amelia Schmitz*, Caroline Stewart*

Carbondale: Josefina Pimentel

Collinsville: Emily Baima*, Elizabeth Burr*, Lauren Carter*

Columbia: Hannah Redinger*, Kelsey Weatherford*

Glen Carbon: Sarah Goldacker

Granite City: Hannah Grotecke, Dakota Smallie*, Shelby Tingley

Highland: Johannah Comish*

Millstadt: Gabriella Holmes*

Nashville: Alexandra Waugh

Neoga: Kayli Worthey

O’Fallon: Elizabeth Boehning*, Caitlin Lloyd, Lauren Lundy, Jordyn Thompson*

Red Bud: Cecelia Cowell*

Swansea: Sarah Eversman

Troy: Kaitlyn Barnett*, Madeleine Renken*

Please note – girls with an asterisk (*) by their names also earned the Girl Scout Trifecta Award. The Girl Scout Trifecta Award recognizes GSSI Girl Scouts who have earned the Girl Scout Bronze Award, Girl Scout Silver Award and the Girl Scout Gold Award. 

The Girl Scout Silver Award, the highest award a Girl Scout Cadette can earn, is symbolic of accomplishments in Girl Scouting and community activities as a girl becomes her best self and builds the world around her. The Girl Scout Silver Award project benefits a girl’s community and can be earned as an individual or as part of a group. This year’s Girl Scout Silver Award recipients include:

Anna: Olivia Capel, Hannah Miller

Belleville: Katelynn Allen, Natalee Brannaman, Ayanna Brown, Kennedy Elbe, OIivia Futrell, Megan Gebke, Allyson Nowak, Tia Perkins, Katherine Satterfield, Kalynn Schwoebel, Kaeloni Slawter, Annette Smith, Zoe Smith, Kamela Straub

Breese: Brooke Bassler. Grace Kahrhoff

Carlyle: Alyssa Becker

Cheyenne Hunter

Dorsey: Gwynn Frisbie Firsching

Kamryn Van Arsdale

Effingham: Sydney Hodge

Glen Carbon:
Olivia Bell, Madeleine Loyet, Kristen Valley

Granite City: Randi Ulrich

Highland: Allison Workman, Olivia Owens, Fayth Whicker

Hoyleton: Kimberly Stegman

Jonesboro: Olivia Bowen, Annalee Keller, Libby Smith, Jaley Watkins

Lebanon: Emmaleigh Fox

Macedonia: Allie Dial

Marine: Jillianne Martin

Mascoutah: Alexys Nieves, Madison Sanker

Medora: Molly Hasquin

Metropolis: Autumn Cofield, Lily Conkle, Grace Davis, Alexis Frazine, Ashlynn Kommer, Savannah Meadows, Maci Miller, Alexandria Swafford, Anna Thompson

Millstadt: Natalie Hampsten, Alyssa Riley

Modoc: Faith Bailey

Mount Olive: Emma Hahn, Jordin Kierbach, Tori Kierbach, Shannon Minor, Libbie Nowell, Ashley Odorizzi, Hailey Odorizzi, Haley Pruden, Carlie Scheiter

New Baden: Angelika Donaldson

O’Fallon: Kayla Conklin, Emilee Hamm, nAlexa Prouhet, Mia Torres, Makayla Weiss, Sofia Wojtal

Pinckneyville: Railyn Bardle, Emily Skinner, Gabrielle Sprague, Hayley Winter

Red Bud: Abigail Antry, Anna Beshoar, Anastasia Clark, Caitlin Dehne, Savannah Morris, Brooke Porter

Shiloh: Julia Dupuis, Emma Likert, Taylor Massey

Staunton: Honor Baker, Ainsley Baldwin Zurek, Kaylee Seelbach

Tamaroa: Kassity Lee

Thompsonville: Olivia Barclay, Jayma Lindhorst

Trenton: Jordan Linafelter

Waterloo: Aimee Magliulo

Wood River: KayLee Melton. Rebecca Noack

Worden: Gwendalyn Calvo

Outstanding Graduating Girl Scouts Scholarships are awarded to extraordinary Girl Scout careers and can be used by girls to attend the college of their choice. This year’s Outstanding Graduating Girl Scouts include:

Belleville: Caroline Stewart

Edwardsville: Kathleen McCracken

Neoga: Kayli Worthey

Watch for more All That Glitters coverage coming this week here on our blog and on our social media feeds!