Monday, March 30, 2015

Girl Scouts' Appreciation Pin Awarded to 21 GSSI Volunteers

Top volunteers were recognized at Girl Scouts of Southern Illinois' 6th Annual Meeting on March 28 at Rend Lake Resort. GSSI’s 4,500 Girl Scout volunteers play an instrumental role in providing leadership programming and opportunities for more than 14,000 girls in southern Illinois. 

“Girl Scouting in southern Illinois would not be what it is today without the dedication, passion and leadership of all of our volunteers,” said Appoo. “We are honored to present these awards to our exceptional volunteers as they are the driving force behind carrying out GSSI’s mission of building leaders for America. I Can’t Wait To continue working with these amazing volunteers to ensure all girls in southern Illinois can benefit from a premier Girl Scout Leadership Experience,” Appoo added.

The Appreciation Pin recognizes an individual’s exemplary service in support of delivering the Girl Scout Leadership Experience (GSLE). This service, which has had measurable impact on at least one geographic area of service, helps the council reach and surpass its mission-delivery goals for that area. The following volunteers were recognized with the the Appreciation Pin:

Cyndi Addison, SU 21 – East Marion County
Patti Bardle, SU 54 – Perry County
Christina Boyce, SU 108 – Edwardsville/Glen Carbon
Steve Bushong, SU 211 – Waterloo
Jennifer Choma, SU 111 – Collinsville
Crystal Clement, SU 201 – O’Fallon/Shiloh
Miranda Groh, SU 42 – East Williamson County
Virginia Hall, SU 30 – Jefferson County
Deb Hibdon, SU 30 – Jefferson County
Loretta Hilmes, SU 202 – Trenton/Lebanon/Mascoutah/New Baden
Nikki Labbee, SU 202 – Trenton/Lebanon/Mascoutah/New Baden
Debbie McAuliffe, SU 201 – O’Fallon/Shiloh
Amy Parr, SU 85 – Wayne/Hamilton/White Counties
Linda Pennington, SU 24 – Fayette County
Karen Reed, SU 201 – O’Fallon/Shiloh
Jean Schad, SU 201 – O’Fallon/Shiloh
Karen Schmitz, SU 201 – O’Fallon/Shiloh
Marsha Shirley, SU 202 – Trenton/Lebanon/Mascoutah/New Baden
Jennie Smith, SU 66 – Shawnee
Ann Taylor, SU 108 – Edwardsville/Glen Carbon
Nichole Williams, SU 30 – Jefferson County