Monday, March 30, 2015

GSSI Recognizes 31 Volunteers with Volunteer of Excellence Award

Top volunteers were recognized at Girl Scouts of Southern Illinois' 6th Annual Meeting on March 28 at Rend Lake Resort. GSSI’s 4,500 Girl Scout volunteers play an instrumental role in providing leadership programming and opportunities for more than 14,000 girls in southern Illinois. 

“Girl Scouting in southern Illinois would not be what it is today without the dedication, passion and leadership of all of our volunteers,” said Appoo. “We are honored to present these awards to our exceptional volunteers as they are the driving force behind carrying out GSSI’s mission of building leaders for America. I Can’t Wait To continue working with these amazing volunteers to ensure all girls in southern Illinois can benefit from a premier Girl Scout Leadership Experience,” Appoo added.

The Volunteer of Excellence Award recognizes those volunteers who have contributed outstanding service while partnering directly with girls in any pathway to implement the Girl Scout Leadership Experience through use of the National Program Portfolio or who have contributed outstanding service in support of the council’s mission delivery to girl and adult members.  The following volunteers received the Volunteer of Excellence Award: 

Heather Barclay, SU 51 – North Franklin County

Shelly Blaies, SU 111 – Collinsville

Kristine Bohn, SU 7 – Bond County

Nicki Brown, SU 207 – Belleville/Swansea

Shannon Buchanan, SU 201 – O’Fallon/Shiloh

Janice Clevenger, SU 85 – Wayne/Hamilton/White Counties

Carla Crooker, SU 511 – Effingham County

Brandy Dodel, SU 211 – Waterloo

Amanda Doll, SU 7 – Bond County

Tara Godier, SU 7 – Bond County

Barbara James, SU 72 – Union/Pulaski/Alexander Counties (UPAC)

Debbie Kamp, SU 105 – Jersey/Calhoun Counties

Cindy Kinder, SU 106 – Bethalto

Susan Knapp, SU 15 – Clinton County

Lori Libby, SU 207 – Belleville/Swansea

Lynn Miener, SU 109 – Troy/St. Jacob/Marine

Leanne Montgomery, SU 111 – Collinsville

Melissa Oberlender, SU 110 – Highland

Christina Parr, SU 85 – Wayne/Hamilton/White Counties

Lisa Reed, SU 201 – O’Fallon/Shiloh

Nancy Robeen, SU 105 – Jersey/Calhoun Counties

Connie Schott, SU 105 – Jersey/Calhoun Counties

Stacy Schroeder, SU 15 – Clinton County

Allison Smith, SU 7 – Bond County

Kristi Smith, SU 201 – O’Fallon/Shiloh

Kathy Stachowski, SU 9 – Centralia

Jill Thomas, SU 15 – Clinton County

Andrea Weatherford, SU 209 – Columbia/Millstadt/Dupo/Smithton

Gail Webb, SU 72 – Union/Pulaski/Alexander Counties (UPAC)

Diana Williams, SU 106 – Bethalto

Amy Zajac, SU 108 – Edwardsville/Glen Carbon